home Featured, Politics Mcebisi Jonas defeated, resigns as ANC member of parliament

Mcebisi Jonas defeated, resigns as ANC member of parliament

By BO Staff Writer

Former Deputy Finance Minister, Mcebisi Jonas, has resigned as African National Congress (ANC) member of parliament, but will remain a member of the party.

Jonas is the second MP to resign this week after former Transport Minister Dipuo Peters resigned yesterday.

The resignations come after the two were sacked by President Jacob Zuma from cabinet, after he cited irreconcilable working relations with some of the 10 reshuffled MPs.

The reshuffled MPs belonged to an anti-Zuma faction which sought to remove the sitting president undemocratically. The defeated MPs are now resigning enmasse to support the anti-Zuma calls outside parliament.

Peters and Jonas quit because they are disgruntled by the reshuffle but also because had they stayed, they would have been forced to vote for Zuma in the vote of no confidence which will happen later this month.

ANC Secretary General Gwede Mantashe said yesterday that there will be no ANC member allowed to vote against the party in parliament.

There are now questions about whether former Finance Minister, Pravin Gordhan, will resign as well. The minister is a known Johann Rupert stooge and has now publicly attacked the president numerous times.

The ANC National Working Committee meeting which concluded yesterday has strengthened Zuma’s hegemony in the party and all his detractors are running away.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons